West Coast 360 Sprint Car Series

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
Series History
Contact Us





By Lance Jennings

SANTA MARIA, CA – JUNE 3, 2014... This Saturday, June 7th, the cars and stars of the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series will tackle Kings Speedway in Hanford. Promoted by Scott Woodhouse, the eighth point race of the campaign will also feature the RaceSaver Wing Sprints, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, and Mini Stocks. The pit gates will open at 2:00pm, front gates will open at 5:00pm and racing is scheduled to begin at 6:30pm.

Saturday’s race will be the third of six dates at the Kings County Fairgrounds. Jace Vander Weerd won the March 29th “Gary Jacob Memorial” and rain washed out the April 25th show. Coming off his third consecutive victory at Tulare, Ryan Bernal leads all drivers with seventeen career series wins. Bernal will be looking to make history with his fourth triumph and tie Richard Vander Weerd’s record of six Hanford wins. Peter Murphy holds the 1-lap qualifying track record at Kings Speedway of 15.290 set on March 13, 2010.

Rauma, Finland’s Markus Niemela sits atop the point standings and holds a forty point advantage over the competition. Racing Keith Ford’s #73 Berry Pack / King Racing Products Spike, Niemela ran seventh in last Saturday’s event at Tulare. Currently, the 2013 USAC/CRA Rookie of the Year has two Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Awards, one heat race victory, seven top-10 finishes, and 12 feature laps led to his credit. Markus will be looking to extend his point lead and earn his first series triumph at Hanford.

After placing third at Tulare, Matt Mitchell of Yorba Linda has climbed to second in the point chase. Piloting his #37 MPD Racing / ART Enterprises Maxim, Mitchell has one heat race victory, one Competition Suspension Inc. / Rod End Supply Semi-Main win, two Keizer Wheels / Racing Optics Hard Charger Awards and six top-10 finishes on the season. On Saturday, the 2-time USAC/CRA “Salute to Indy” winner will have his sights on his first West Coast main event win.

Visalia’s Jace Vander Weerd ranks third in the USAC West Coast standings. Driving the family owned #88 Vander Weerd Construction / Battery Worx Maxim, Vander Weerd scored tenth in the Tulare main event. To date, the 2010 USAC/CRA Rookie of the Year has one feature win, one Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award, two heat race victories, eight top-10 finishes, and 20 feature laps led. At Hanford, Jace will be looking to earn the $1,500 payday and claim his fifth series victory.

Troy Rutherford of Ojai sits fourth in the chase for the championship. Racing Steve Watt’s #81 JD Machine Tech / AAA Propane Maxim, Rutherford claimed fourth in last Saturday’s event at Tulare. Heading to Hanford, the 2010 VRA Champion has one feature win, one heat race victory, six top-10 finishes, and 14 feature laps led on the year. Troy will have his sights on moving up the standings with his third West Coast triumph.

“Hollywood” Danny Faria Jr. of Tipton is fifth in the point standings. Piloting Junior Bowman’s #2 Buster & Ziggy Enterprises / DeBoer & Sons Trucking Spike, Faria ran seventh at Tulare after starting twelfth. To date, the defending champion has two heat race victories, two Keizer Wheels / Racing Optics Hard Charger Awards, and five top-10 finishes. On Saturday, “Hollywood” will be looking to earn his seventh series win at Kings Speedway.

Currently eighteenth in points, Springville’s Garrett Long leads the chase for Rookie of the Year honors. Terra Bella’s Trent Carter, Robert Nuckles of Hanford, and Hanford’s Connor Kassik are also in contention.

Among the other drivers expected to be in action are Dennis Howell, Nic Faas, Austin Liggett, “Shifter” Landon Hurst, Ryan Bernal, Marty Hawkins, Kevin Barnes, “The Wild Child” Chris Ennis, Jeff Sibley, Austin Stone, Davey Pombo, Matt Day, T.J. Smith, and more.

SCHEDULE CHANGE: The USAC West Coast Sprints have been added to Hanford’s “29th Annual Cotton Classic” on October 11th. Also featuring the winged King of the West 410 Sprints, USAC/CRA 410 Sprints, and Legends of Kerney Bowl Super Modifieds, the NON-POINTS RACE will be a MUST SEE EVENT for sprint car fans! Please update your schedules.

Kings Speedway is located on the Kings County Fairgrounds at 801 South 10th Avenue in Hanford, California. Grandstand tickets are $15 with discounts available for Seniors (55+), Military (with I.D.), and Children 7-12. Kids 6 and under are FREE at all non-special events. Camping is available on the fairgrounds and for more event information, visit www.kingsspeedway.net or call (559) 584-RACE (7223).

The USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series thanks Amsoil, Hoosier Tire, Chris Kearns Presents, Competition Suspension Inc., Deist Safety, Engler Machine & Tool, Extreme Mufflers, Five Star Grafix, Keizer Wheels, Pyrotect Racing Cells, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rugged Radios, Saldana Racing Products, SouthWest Contractors, VanLare Steering Repair, Weld Racing, and Woodland Auto Display for their support. If you or your company would like to become part of the series, email PR Director Lance Jennings at [email protected].

For more information, visit westcoastsprintcars.com, www.usacracing.com, follow the series on Facebook (www.facebook.com/#!/pages/USAC-West-Coast-Sprint-Car-Series/369549755817), or Twitter (www.twitter.com/USACwc360).
6-Richard Vander Weerd, 5-Ryan Bernal, 4- Danny Faria Jr., 4-Bud Kaeding, 2-Justyne Hamblin, 2-Peter Murphy, 2-T.J. Smith, 2-Craig Stidham, 2-Jace Vander Weerd, 1-Aaron Altaffer, 1-Rusty Carlile, 1-Wes Gutierrez, 1-Cory Kruseman, 1-Davey Pombo, 1-Troy Rutherford, 1-Terry Schank Jr.

1. Markus Niemela-402, 2. Matt Mitchell-362, 3. Jace Vander Weerd-355, 4. Troy Rutherford-349, 5. Danny Faria Jr.-332, 6. Richard Vander Weerd-293, 7. Dennis Howell-282, 8. Nic Faas-281, 9. Austin Liggett-273, 10. Landon Hurst-259, 11. Ryan Bernal-215, 12. Bud Kaeding-180, 13. Marty Hawkins-163
14. Kevin Barnes-150, 15. Chris Ennis-146, 16. Jeff Sibley-133, 17. D.J. Johnson-98, 18. Garrett Long-90, 19. Michael Pickens-84, 20. Mike Spencer-84.

June 7: Kings Speedway - Hanford, CA
June 21: Thunderbowl Raceway - Tulare, CA
July 19: Kings Speedway - Hanford, CA
August 2: #Kings Speedway - Hanford, CA (Billet Cup / $2,500-to-Win)
August 8: #Ocean Speedway - Watsonville, CA
August 9: #Chowchilla Speedway - Chowchilla, CA
September 27: *Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ (Brawl For It All / $2,500-to-Win / Grudge Series / Non-Points)
October 11: Kings Speedway - Hanford, CA (Cotton Classic / Non-Points)
November 6: *Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Oval Nationals / $2,500-to-Win / Grudge Series)
November 20: *Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships / Non-Points)
November 21: *Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships / Non-Points)
November 22: *Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ (Western World Championships / $7,500-to-Win / Non-Points)
* = Co-Sanctioned Event with USAC Southwest Sprints.
# = Co-Sanctioned Event with USAC Western Classic Sprints.
This schedule is subject to change.