West Coast 360 Sprint Car Series

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
Series History
Contact Us





By Lance Jennings

PEORIA, AZ – NOVEMBER 23, 2014... After winning the opener of the “47th Annual Sands Chevrolet Western World Championships,” Ryan Bernal of Hollister, California celebrated another triumph at Canyon Speedway Park. Friday’s $2,000 USAC SouthWest & West Coast Sprint Car victory was Bernal’s second career win at the Peoria clay oval. Matt Rossi, Jon Stanbrough, Casey Shuman, and R.J. Johnson rounded out the top-five drivers.

Racing Mike Phulps #56 Tri-L Mandarin Ranch / Core Power ART, Ryan Bernal grabbed the top spot from Stanbrough on the third circuit and sailed to the 30-lap win. Earlier in the program, the two-time USAC Western Classic Sprint Champion ran second to Shuman in his heat race before placing fifth in the nightly passing points.

After finishing sixteenth the previous night, South Central’s Matt Rossi rebounded to claim second in the main event. Piloting the family owned #02 Apache Scapes / Advanced Engine Components Spike, Rossi won his sixth heat race of the season and ranked third in the nightly passing points.

After leading the first two opening laps, Jon Stanbrough of Avon, Indiana scored third at the checkered flags. Driving the Shon Deskins owned #20S MP Environmental / Spike Chassis entry, Stanbrough won the program’s fifth heat race and placed the veteran driver sixth in passing points.

Indianapolis, Indiana’s Casey Shuman placed fourth in the Friday Western World feature after starting sixth. Racing the Hockett/James #75 Factory Kahne / Lucas Oil Maxim, Shuman was the night’s high point driver after winning the night’s first 8-lap heat race.

R.J. Johnson of Phoenix charged from eleventh to fifth in the 30-lap main event. Piloting the Bill Michaels’ owned #77M Kodiak Products / Beal’s Auto Body Sherman, Johnson took third in his heat race and was one of six drivers locked into Saturday’s finale.

Greenfield, Indiana’s C.J. Leary earned the night’s “Hard Charger / Best Passing Job” honors by racing to tenth from nineteenth. Racing the family owned #30 Leary Construction / Green-Tech Lubricants DRC, Leary was sixth in his heat race and placed third in the first semi-main event.

Phoenix’s Shon Deskins claimed his ninth heat race win of the campaign. Driving his #20S MP Environmental / Spike Chassis machine, the May Prescott Valley winner was second in the nightly passing points and ran seventh in the feature.

Mike Colegrove of Peoria won the night’s fourth 8-lap heat race. Racing the family owned #17M Precision Tile / Ellis Race Cars entry, Colegrove ranked fourth in passing points and scored twelfth in the main event after starting third.

Tempe’s Stevie Sussex raced to victory in the night’s first 12-lap semi-main. Piloting the Mike Burkhart owned #21AZ Stratis Construction / Westin Diversified RSS, Sussex placed fourth in his heat race and scored twentieth in the main event.

Josh Pelkey of Peoria won the night’s second 12-lap semi-main. Driving Robbie & Gaye Allen’s #12 ABC Body Shop / Napa Auto Parts Maxim, Pelkey ran third in his heat race and charged to ninth in the feature after starting sixteenth.

The USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series thanks Sunoco Race Fuels, Hoosier Tire, Racers Advantage Store, and the Hose Advantage Store for their support. For more information on the group, visit www.southwestsprintcars.com, www.usacracing.com, or follow the series on Facebook (www.facebook.com/SouthwestSprintCars).
November 21, 2014 - Peoria, Arizona - Canyon Speedway Park - 47th Annual Sands Chevrolet "Western World Championships"

FIRST HEAT: (8 laps)
1. Casey Shuman (#75, Hockett/James), 2. Ryan Bernal (#56 Phulps), 3. Josh Pelkey (#12 Allen), 4. Matt Mitchell (#37 Mitchell), 5. Brady Bacon (#99 BBR), 6. Brian Hosford (#32B Weber), 7. Dalten Gabbard (#77 Gabbard), 8. Chris Windom (#22B Weber).

SECOND HEAT: (8 laps)
1. Shon Deskins (#20 Deskins), 2. Bryan Clauson (#20X Stewart/Curb-Agajanian), 3. Robert Ballou (#12X Ballou), 4. Mike Martin (#16 Martin), 5. Mike Spencer (#7M Priestley), 6. C.J. Leary (#30 Leary), 7. Matt Lundy (#98 Lundy), 8. Mark Morin (#28 Morin).

THIRD HEAT: (8 laps)
1. Matt Rossi (#02 Rossi), 2. Gary Taylor (#1ST BRAT), 3. Michael Curtis (#11C Turner/Wheeler), 4. Kevin Thomas, Jr. (#17RW Dutcher), 5. Tom Ogle (#48 Ogle), 6. Tye Mihocko (#5 Mihocko), 7. Casey Buckman (#04G Cook).

FOURTH HEAT: (8 laps)
1. Mike Colegrove (#17M Colegrove), 2. Josh Shipley (#2 Bishop), 3. R.J. Johnson (#77M Michaels), 4. Stevie Sussex (#21AZ Burkhart), 5. Josh Hodges (#74X Hodges), 6. Bruce St. James (#7K St. James), 7. Bradley Terrell (#5V VanLare).

FIFTH HEAT: (8 laps)
1. Jon Stanbrough (#20S Deskins), 2. Jake Swanson (#92 Sertich), 3. Colby Copeland (#74 Williams), 4. Aaron Reutzel (#87 Reutzel), 5. Dave Darland (#73 Ford), 6. Charles Davis, Jr. (#50 Massey), 7. Andy Reinbold (#19 Underwood).

FIRST SEMI: (12 laps)
1. Sussex, 2. Spencer, 3. Leary, 4. Davis, 5. Bacon, 6. Reutzel, 7. Terrell, 8. Reinbold, 9. Hosford, 10. Curtis, 11. Mihocko, 12. Morin. NT

SECOND SEMI: (12 laps)
1. Pelkey, 2. Copeland, 3. Darland, 4. Windom, 5. Martin, 6. St. James, 7. Hodges, 8. Gabbard, 9. Lundy, 10. Buckman, 11. Ogle. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps – With Starting Positions)
1. Ryan Bernal (2nd), 2. Matt Rossi (4th), 3. Jon Stanbrough (1st), 4. Casey Shuman (6th), 5. R.J. Johnson (11th), 6. Robert Ballou (14th), 7. Shon Deskins (5th), 8. Jake Swanson (7th), 9. Josh Pelkey (16th), 10. C.J. Leary (19th), 11. Gary Taylor (9th), 12. Michael Colegrove (3rd), 13. Colby Copeland (18th), 14. Mike Spencer (17th), 15. Chris Windom (22nd), 16. Kevin Thomas Jr. (13th), 17. Matt Mitchell (12th), 18. Dave Darland (20th), 19. Charles Davis Jr. (21st), 20. Stevie Sussex (15th), 21. Josh Shipley (10th), 22. Bryan Clauson (8th). NT
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-2 Stanbrough, Laps 3-30 Bernal.
HARD CHARGER: C.J. Leary (19th to 10th)