West Coast 360 Sprint Car Series

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
Series History
Contact Us





E&K Of Phoenix Offers $5,000 USAC Winter Challenge Bonus
By Kevin Montgomery

PEORIA, Ariz. (December 16th, 2014) – Longtime supporter of Canyon Speedway and the USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series, E&K of Phoenix, will offer up a $5,000 bonus to the top five 2015 USAC Sprint Car Winter Challenge series point earners plus the Winter Challenge “Most Valuable Racer”.

The Winner of the E&K Winter Challenge five race series will pick up an additional $2,000 while second place will take home $1,000. The remaining of the top five will earn $750, $500 and $250 respectfully while the lowest point earner of the series who starts all five A-Features will be awarded the E&K Winter Challenge “Most Valuable Racer” award and $500.

“Each and every one of the racers are very important to these events and while we want to recognize the drivers that finish up front, we also want to show our appreciation to a team that supported the Winter Challenge and worked just as hard as anyone but maybe had some bad luck” commented Doug Stegemoller of E&K.
Since its conception in 1956, E&K has provided high quality service and products establishing themselves as one of the largest interior and exterior finish contractors in the United States.

With the E&K Winter Challenge just around the corner, Arizona race fans can mark their calendar as the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars face off with the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series while IMCA Modified aces converge in the southwest for what is anticipated to be one of the largest racing events of 2015. The best of the best in Wingless Sprint Cars and IMCA Modifieds tackle Canyon Speedway’s 1/3-mile clay oval for three races on January 23rd, 24th and 25th before moving to the 3/8-mile USA Raceway January 30th and 31st.

USAC National Champion, Brady Bacon, picked up the first round of Winter Challenge before Colby Copeland put a stop to Dave Darland’s two win streak when Copeland took the win in round four. Darland regained the top of the podium earning the Winter Challenge title but it was Richard Vander Weerd that picked up the $5,000 finale.

Fresh off an IMCA Championship, Arizona’s Jason Noll, picked up last year’s Winter Challenge IMCA opener before 2014 champion, Ricky Thornton Jr. went on a winning streak conquering the next four $1,000 victories earning him Winter Challenge Championship honors. Iowa’s Jesses Sobbing was able to capture the final victory of the series.

Five day discounted tickets may be purchased in advance and ticket pricing/purchasing information can be found online at: http://www.canyonspeedwaypark.com/?page_id=12 or by calling the Canyon Speedway office at 602-258-7223