West Coast 360 Sprint Car Series

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
Series History
Contact Us





By Lance Jennings

PHOENIX, AZ – JANUARY 19, 2015… Starting this Friday, January 23rd, the “4th Annual E&K Winter Challenge” will open the 2015 season for the USAC SouthWest and West Coast Sprint Cars. Showcasing five-races in nine nights, the non-point “Arizona Speed Week” will draw many talented drivers from across the country. Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria will host the first three nights of action before shifting to Tucson’s USA Raceway on January 30th. Racing will start at 5:00pm on weekends and 7:00pm on weekdays. For more event, ticket, and practice information, visit www.canyonspeedwaypark.com or www.raceusaraceway.com.

Promoted by Kevin Montgomery, the mini-series will pay at least $2,000-to-win each night and drivers that claim the January 25th and January 31st events will take home $4,000. In addition, E&K Construction of Phoenix is offering a $5,000 bonus with $2,000 going to the point champion as $1,000, $750, $500, and $250 will go to second through fifth. The lowest point driver that started all five main events will earn the $500 “Most Valuable Racer” award. USAC SouthWest Series rules apply and the purse information is at the bottom of this release.

Last year, “The People’s Champion” Dave Darland of Indiana joined Tracy Hines and Bryan Clauson as champions of the Winter Challenge. Racing Casey Minks’ #1X Maxim, Darland took three victories while Brady Bacon, Colby Copeland, and Richard Vander Weerd scored one win. Vander Weerd, the 2011 USAC West Coast Champion, earned $5,000 for winning the 30-lap finale.

Darland, Hines, and Clauson are tied for the most “Winter Challenge” wins with three triumphs. The three Indiana drivers are followed by five-time Arizona Champion “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. with two victories. In addition to Bacon, Copeland, and Vander Weerd, two-time USAC SouthWest Champion R.J. Johnson and Jon Stanbrough with one feature win to their credit.

The visiting drivers will have to contend with a strong “Copper State” contingent featuring Johnson, Davis, Josh Pelkey, Western World Champion Matt Rossi, Shon Deskins, “The Magic Man” Mike Martin, “The Kid” Tye Mihocko, Brian Hosford, Michael Curtis, Nick Aiuto, Andy Reinbold, “The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James, and many more.

Canyon Speedway is located at 9777 West Carefree Highway in Peoria, Arizona. To get to the track, take Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles west on Carefree Highway. Discounted six day passes for VIP Suite, Reserved, and General Seats are available. Advance tickets are on sale now and more event information can be found at www.canyonspeedwaypark.com or calling (602) 258-7223 (RACE).

USA Raceway is located at 4300 E. Los Reales Road in Tucson, Arizona. To get to the track, take Interstate 10 to exit 265. Drive 2.5 miles south on S. Alvernon Way, the 0.5 miles east on Los Reales Road. Advance tickets are on sale now and more event information can be found at www.raceusaraceway.com or calling (602) 258-7223 (RACE).
2012-Tracy Hines, 2013-Bryan Clauson, 2014-Dave Darland.

3-Bryan Clauson, 3- Dave Darland, 3-Tracy Hines, 2-Charles Davis Jr., 1-Brady Bacon, 1-Colby Copeland, 1-R.J. Johnson, 1-Jon Stanbrough, 1-Richard Vander Weerd.

JANUARY 23, 24, 30 PURSE:
1-$2,000; 2-$1,000; 3-$800; 4-$600; 5-$500; 6-$400; 7-$375; 8-$350; 9-$325; 10-$300; 11-$280; 12-$260; 13-$245; 14-$230; 15-$215; 16-$210; 17-$205; 18-$205; 19-$200; 20-$200.

1-$4,000; 2-$2,000; 3-$800; 4-$1,200; 5-$700; 6-$600; 7-$575; 8-$550; 9-$525; 10-$500; 11-$480; 12-$460; 13-$445; 14-$430; 15-$420; 16-$410; 17-$405; 18-$400; 19-$400; 20-$400.

January 22: Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ (Open Practice, 6-9pm)
January 23: Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ ($2,000-to-Win)
January 24: Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ ($2,000-to-Win)
January 25: Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ ($4,000-to-Win)
January 29: USA Raceway - Tucson, AZ (Open Practice, 6-9pm)
January 30: USA Raceway - Tucson, AZ ($2,000-to-Win)
January 31: USA Raceway - Tucson, AZ ($4,000-to-Win)
This schedule is subject to change.