West Coast 360 Sprint Car Series

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
Series History
Contact Us





By Lance Jennings

JUNE 23, 2016... Excitement and anticipation is growing as get closer to July 22nd & 23rd for the “3rd Annual Peter Murphy Classic.” Hosted by the Merle Stone Chevrolet Thunderbowl Raceway in Tulare, California, the event is one of the most prestigious and richest dates on the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Schedule. Also featuring the winged King of the West Sprints and “Legends of Kearney Bowl” Vintage Cars, both nights are a “must see” event for California Sprint Car fans.

NOTICE TO RACERS: The “Peter Murphy Classic” will be run under the USAC West Coast Rule Book and a $35 entry fee will be collected. The Hoosier 105/16 Medium is the ONLY legal right rear tire and all four corners must be Hoosier. Cockpit adjustable shocks are NOT allowed and engine restrictor rules are 1-7/8” with open heads and 2-3/16” with ASCS cylinder heads. The weight rule is 1,475 lbs. with driver and the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Rule Book can be found online at westcoastsprintcars.com and www.usacracing.com. USAC Memberships are mandatory and can be purchased online at https://usacracing.redpodium.com/2016-usac-licensing. Membership forms will also be available on raceday.

A special thanks goes to Peter Murphy and his family for gathering sponsorship and raising additional prize money for the event. At press time, they are continuing to look for more sponsors and a list of current bonuses are listed below. Interested parties can contact Peter Murphy at Pro Signs in Fresno at (559) 292-4429 or [email protected].

-Normal Purse ($1,500 to win and $225 to start). 22 Cars will start Main Event.

-Main Event will be at least $4,000 to win and $400 to start.
-$500 for Fast Time. ($400 Bonus, plus $100 Woodland Auto Display Award)
-$400 for Hard Charger.
-$400 for Long Tow.
-Additional Cash will go to a 4-Car, 4-Lap, Dash For Cash

All bonuses raised by Peter Murphy will be paid in cash. USAC West Coast Contingency Awards worth over $1,600 will also be distributed. More information will follow as additional bonuses are available.

Noted as one of the most popular drivers in the Central Valley, Peter Murphy established himself in both the winged and non-wing sprint car ranks. Driving the potent Tarlton & Son #21, the Australia native won non-winged championships with the SCRA 360s, Bandits, Kings Bandits, VRA/Bandit Grand Slam Mini-Series, and the Santa Maria Sprint Cars. In West Coast action, Murphy won six races during the inaugural season and currently ranks sixth on the series win list. In addition, he posted one fast time award and still holds the track record at Hanford’s Keller Auto Speedway at Kings Fairgrounds. Returning to the winged 410s, Murphy was very competitive until injuries sustained in a July 2013 crash forced his retirement as a driver. Still a great ambassador for sprint car racing, he has worked behind the scenes to make the “Peter Murphy Classic” a successful event to rave reviews and higher purses. Last year, Matt Mitchell won the USAC West Coast feature and Aaron Reutzel scored the King of the West triumph.

The USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series thanks Amsoil, Hoosier Tire, BR Motorsports, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Chris Kearns Presents, Competition Suspension Incorporated, DJ Safety, Diversified Machine Incorporated, Extreme Mufflers, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, King Racing Products, Rod End Supply, Stand 21 Racer Goes Safer Foundation, Ultra Shield Race Products, and Woodland Auto Display for their support. If you or your company would like to become part of the series, email PR Director Lance Jennings at [email protected].

For more information, visit westcoastsprintcars.com, and www.usacracing.com. You can also find exclusive content on the USAC West Coast Facebook and Twitter pages.

Loudpedal Productions has USAC West Coast Sprint Car DVDs and videos on demand available for purchase at www.loudpedal.tv and 805.407.7229.
2009-Justyne Hamblin, 2010-Craig Stidham, 2011-Richard Vander Weerd, 2012-Bud Kaeding, 2013-Danny Faria Jr., 2014-Matt Mitchell, 2015-Danny Faria Jr.

1. Brody Roa-477, 2. D.J. Johnson-473, 3. Trey Marcham-425, 4. Jace Vander Weerd-401, 5. Austin Liggett-363, 6. Richard Vander Weerd-354, 7. Tristan Guardino-337, 8. Max Adams-323, 9. Danny Faria Jr.-293, 10. Ryan Timmons-293, 11. Jeff Sibley-237, 12. Cody Majors-234, 13. Troy Rutherford-216, 14. Kevin Barnes-215, 15. Kyle Smith-190, 16. Shannon McQueen-187, 17. Ricky Kirkbride-162, 18. Bryan Clauson-137, 19. Landon Hurst-135, 20. Brady Bacon-119.

June 25: Keller Auto Speedway at Kings Fairgrounds - Hanford, CA
July 22: Merle Stone Chevrolet Thunderbowl Raceway - Tulare, CA (Peter Murphy Classic)
July 23: Merle Stone Chevrolet Thunderbowl Raceway - Tulare, CA (Peter Murphy Classic)
August 6: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA (Bud Stanfield Memorial)
August 12: Ocean Speedway - Watsonville, CA
August 13: Keller Auto Speedway at Kings Fairgrounds - Hanford, CA
November 23: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Turkey Night Grand Prix / Non-Points)
November 24: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Turkey Night Grand Prix / Non-Points)
This schedule is subject to change.